Erasmus+ Incoming Students

In the Physics Department of Dokuz Eylul University, a formal education program with 30% English as  the medium of instruction is being implemented.

The Bachelor’s programme takes four years and comprises 240 ECTS (European Credit Transfer System), of which 200 ECTS are compulsory courses, 40 ECTS are electives. The electives within the major can be used to optimally prepare for the master programmes, whilst the flexible faculty electives are available to broaden the perspective of students (e.g. by completing a minor in education) or to gain further insights into physics. In the first two years of Physics Undergraduate Program, basic concepts and principles of Physics and Mathematics are taught in a way to span a wide range of spectrum in science such as Mechanics, Electricity, Modern Physics, Chemistry, Calculus, Mathematical Methods in Physics and Computer Programming. In the third and fourth years,  Quantum Mechanics, Atomic and Molecular Physics, Statistical Physics,  Nuclear Physics and Solid State Physics are taught. The lessons in the department are supported by some laboratory practices. Our senior students have to prepare a Project under the supervision of the faculty members in order to learn the methods of independent research. The Physics Department provides a wide range of education services for students from other faculties as well as for its own students by providing basic selective physics courses. For volunteer students Department of Physics at Dokuz Eylul University also offers double major and minor bachelor programmes (physics & mathematics, physics & chemistry).

In addition to undergraduate education, our department offers graduate program and awards Master of Science and Doctoral degrees. The contents of each of these programmes are closely linked to the  research areas that are conducted at the department. Our department has both theoretical and experimental research activities. Analytical/computational studies of Condensed Matter and Statistical  Physics, Crystallography, High Energy and Particle Physics, Nuclear Physics and Superconductivity are the main research interests. The M.Sc. (2 years, 120 ECTS) and Ph.D. (4 years, 240 ECTS) Programs aim at teaching fundamental principles in physics at a high level and coupling this knowledge with research experience in either theoretical or experimental physics depending on the interests of the student.

Attached are our undergraduate and graduate programmes that you may interest. Please note that all PHY coded courses are taught in English.





More information about contents of courses can be found at: